← Back to directory
CAN

Nasdaq Global Market · Singapore

Canaan

Canaan Inc.

Treasury Qualification

Treasury classificationBitcoin Miner with Strategic Holdings
Qualification tierPending qualification
Directory statusNeeds Review
Ownership statusHistorical-only: 698.5 directly owned BTC is established at June 30, 2026. The separately disclosed 1,117 collateral-receivable BTC and 100 BTC transferred to a fixed-term product are excluded and retained in notes, not owned-BTC components. The newer August 31 headline of 1,868 BTC includes receivables and lacks a methodology-compliant ending ownership split. HOLD - methodology review required for current eligibility. The change from 1,867 to 698.5 reflects methodology and different dates, not a claimed sale of the difference. August's 54-BTC sale does not establish the ending eligible balance. Historical BTC is not included in totals and qualification remains pending.

Strategic intent

Canaan retains Bitcoin generated through self-mining and received through certain commercial activities as a strategic cryptocurrency treasury. Management repeatedly reports the treasury as a key balance-sheet metric and has continued to expand it while operating its ASIC hardware, mining, and energy-compute businesses.

Bitcoin Treasury

Last verified attributable BTC698.5 BTC
Balance dateJune 30, 2026
Estimated valueUnavailable
Average purchase priceNot disclosed

Not included in totals

Historical balance only — current eligible balance not established

Newer reported BTC — not used in totals

1,868 BTC · Balance date: August 31, 2026

Historical-only: 698.5 directly owned BTC is established at June 30, 2026. The separately disclosed 1,117 collateral-receivable BTC and 100 BTC transferred to a fixed-term product are excluded and retained in notes, not owned-BTC components. The newer August 31 headline of 1,868 BTC includes receivables and lacks a methodology-compliant ending ownership split. HOLD - methodology review required for current eligibility. The change from 1,867 to 698.5 reflects methodology and different dates, not a claimed sale of the difference. August's 54-BTC sale does not establish the ending eligible balance. Historical BTC is not included in totals and qualification remains pending.

Reported BTC source

Ownership and Restrictions

Component figures are shown only when separately disclosed and may overlap; they are not additive. Components refer to the eligible balance date unless dated otherwise in research notes. “Not separately disclosed” does not imply zero.

Total BTC reported1,868
Unencumbered / unrestrictedNot separately disclosed
Pledged as collateralNot separately disclosed
Loaned to third partiesNot separately disclosed
Subsidiary-ownedNot separately disclosed
Other restricted owned BTCNot separately disclosed

Latest Financial Results

Reporting period: Three months ended June 30, 2026

Revenue$31,862,000
Operating income/loss$-69,457,000
Net income/loss$-97,607,000
Cash$66,006,000

Management

Chief executive officer
Nangeng Zhang
Chief financial officer
James Jin Cheng
Executive chair
Nangeng Zhang